Validate your skills

The language streams of Shanghai French School offer students the possibility to gain recognized languages certifications, giving them additional credits to get admitted into the best universities worldwide.

Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide Slide

Language certification [2020-2021]


The HSK is the standard Chinese language proficiency test. Designed under the aegis of the Chinese Ministry of National Education, the HSK is divided into a written test and an oral test, each consisting of different levels. This test aims to become, like the TOEFL from which it is inspired, the international reference standard for assessing the level of the Chinese language. It is valid for 2 years.

Pupils taking the HSK / YCT may benefit from a practice test beforehand to familiarize themselves with the exam. To do this, they will have to come forward to their teacher.

Why HSK?

  • A benchmark exam to assess your knowledge of the Chinese language as you learn.
  • A competitive advantage in the job market: obtaining the HSK gives a candidate a higher value in the context of a job search in the context of international exchanges.
  • An open door for an extended experience in China: Obtaining the HSK is a mandatory condition for obtaining a Hanban scholarship or attending a summer camp.
  • A pass for studies abroad: according to the regulations of the Chinese Ministry of National Education, foreign students must obtain level 4 of the HSK with a minimum mark of 180 in order to be able to enroll in a license in a Chinese university.

Who can register for the exam?

The exam is open to students, parents of students, and LFS staff.

What is the HSK exam?

The HSK is separated into two independent tests, one written part, one oral part. The written part Oral and written comprehension and written expression is divided into HSK 1, HSK 2, HSK 3, HSK 4, HSK 5 and HSK 6.

The oral part Oral expression only is divided between the levels HSK elementary, HSK standard and HSK higher . You can take several levels at the same time depending on the test times and the levels tested by your examination center. You can also skip the level of your choice even if the previous levels have not yet been validated.

The LFS only organizes the written tests.

How to register ?

The times and registration fees are as follows:
HSK level 1: 1:30 p.m. (45 minutes) – 150RMB
HSK level 2: 9h (50 minutes) – 250RMB
HSK level 3: 1:30 p.m. (85 minutes) – 350RMB
HSK level 4: 9h (100 minutes) – 450RMB
HSK level 5: 1:30 p.m. (120 minutes) – 550RMB
HSK level 6: 9h (135 minutes) – 650RMB

The registration fees for the YCT are as follows:
– YCT level 1: 50RMB
– YCT level 2: 150RMB
– YCT level 3: 250RMB
– YCT level 4: 350RMB


The DELF is the diploma of studies in the French language. It is an official diploma issued by the French Ministry of National Education.

The proposed certification levels correspond to the CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages), they are broken down as follows:

DELF Prim: A1 and A2, for children aged 7 to 11 attending primary school;
DELF Scolaire: A2, B1 and B2 for adolescents aged 12 to 18 attending secondary school.

Who can register for the exam?

This certification is intended for Shanghai French School students who are not of French nationality or whose first language is not French.

Why take the DELF exam?

This is the opportunity for your child to assess their French skills.

How is the exam going ?

Candidates take a collective oral comprehension, written comprehension and written expression test, and an individual oral expression test.


Cambridge English is a unique approach to teaching, learning and assessing English proficiency.
It is based on international research and guided by a deep desire to: deliver excellent education provide better opportunities for learners and teachers bring value to teachers, schools and employers promoting the learning of English to contribute to society as a whole.

What opportunities does Cambridge offer?

Cambridge English degrees are recognized by more than 15,000 universities, employers and governments around the world.

Our degrees, especially English, can open doors to higher education, improve employment opportunities and, as they are internationally recognized, expand the range of possibilities.


The Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language (DELE) are official diplomas, mastery of the Spanish language, accredited by the Spanish Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports.

The Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language are divided into 6 levels depending on the language level: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2

How is the exam going ?

The Diplomas of Spanish as a Foreign Language are divided into 6 levels depending on the language level: A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2.

The Goethe-Institut exams

The Goethe-Institut exams are internationally renowned and, in many countries, the diplomas awarded serve as proof of competence for employers and higher education establishments.

The Goethe-Institut’s German exams correspond to the levels of the European Framework of Reference for Languages: from A1 for beginners to C2 for the more experienced.

Contact our admission department

Céline Hirrien
Exams & Certifications Manager

Apply for admissions